Spamming for a Cause

Late last month, news broke out that the St. Louis archdiocese contributed $10,000 to prevent Maine’s gay marriage bill from passing. This resulted in protests every Sunday throughout December by angered pro-marriage equality St. Louisans.
(You may read the StLToday.com article here)

This is when it all began for me.
I got my first invitation via Facebook to attend the protest.
And then another invitation…to the same thing.
And another.

Then, within days, three gay men were attacked outside a nightclub. The attack, they claimed, was related to their sexual orientation. St. Louisans decided to hold a benefit event to raise money to cover the victims’ medical bills.
(You may read the StLToday.com article here)

Suddenly, multiple invitations. To the same benefit fundraiser.

Between both events, both of which I was unable to attend, I was spammed with nearly daily messages. They flooded my inbox, prompting me to simply click those all-too-convenient “Select All” and “Delete” buttons.

I have a great appreciation and respect for the St. Louis gay community. They are an impassioned group of people who strive to get their name out by holding in-your-face protests. They not only want equality, they demand it.

Yet when it comes down to it, only those who lead the protests have so much passion as to read all those messages. For people like me, the willing and interested who have higher priorities to attend to, receiving the same message multiple times throughout a day or week gets not only annoying, it diminishes my interest and passion for protesting for their cause.

A successful cause is one that knows when to say, “This is too much.”

Outside my interest in marriage equality, I also subscribe to the ONE Campaign, a global campaign to “make poverty history.” They have chapters all over the world, including at my university, which ranked Number 7 in the country last year for raising awareness.

What I like about this cause is that they, like the St. Louis gay community, are impassioned and proud of what they stand for.

However, I only get an e-mail every two or three weeks. They are clear and concise, containing a great message and links to updates on global crises and relief efforts. No e-mail is the same, and it leaves my reading options open for me rather than cramming them into one long, annoying message.

All in all, the most important duty of a campaign or cause is to keep the interest alive.
Overworking your audience’s brains causes confusion and overwhelms them.
Yet keeping the distribution of information to a short, concise, and unique message will continue to build that interest, and keep your constituents impassioned and ready to fight for their beliefs.

One thought on “Spamming for a Cause

  1. wickedphantom7 says:

    I totally agree.Got the same insane amounts of invites to the same events. It was CRAZY how many times I was invited to Nancy's Place for a benefit.Less is more. Hence why I only kick things into high gear for my radio program mere hours before it hits the airwaves. I try and quell it all, and keep the anticipation in until the last possible minute~Matt

Leave a Reply

