Writer’s Block

So I realize that I haven’t posted since August…

oops.

Seems like I had a bad case of writer’s block. I find it funny that finally, after four years of strenuous amounts of homework and time-consuming meetings and shifts that I would be writing more than I used to, now that my schedule has really opened up. Since graduation–and especially since my last post–I’ve noticed myself becoming more introspective. Without major time commitments filling up my day planner, I have had plenty of opportunity to reflect on my life and the choices I’ve made. And because I was so consumed by my own thoughts, it never struck me that I write them down and publish them, as I have been over the past couple of years.

And to be honest, I hate it.

Now, that is not to say that I regret anything from my past. I am not the type of person to have long-term regrets. If I feel bad for something I have done, I immediately ask forgiveness. It’s the only way I prevent any regret or self-anger from building up and causing much greater long-term effects.

So while I don’t regret anything I’ve done that has led up to this present point in time, I recognize the effect my choices have had on my current situation. And I realize that, while I can’t erase the past, I can write my own future, on my own terms. I’m not afraid to admit that my current situation is by no means ideal (in some respects), which is why I can only hope that any choice I make from here on out will positively affect my future.

“Everyone here has the sense that right now is one of those moments when we are influencing the future.” ~ Steve Jobs 

I know I am not the only one out there. To my fellow recent graduates, I know it’s tough. It’s tough to admit that a degree didn’t come equipped with a career; that we make our living off part-time retail and food service jobs; that the student loan companies will soon be flooding our mailboxes and inboxes; that it feels like we’ve been climbing the social ladder all through college, just to be knocked down to the bottom wrung again after graduation. I know, because I’m right there with you.

So all we can do is hope for the best, and prepare ourselves accordingly. There are no two ways about it

Leave a Reply

